Monday, July 23, 2007

International Association for Coptic Studies Call for Papers

In the most recent Newletter for IACS, there appears a Call for Papers in the following categories:

1. Christianity in Medieval Egypt. Panel Coordinator: Johannes den Heijer (johannes.denheijer@uclouvain.be)

2. Coptic Language and Linguistics. Panel Coordinators: Ariel Shisha-Halevy, with Eitan Grossman (shisha@cc.huji.ac.il or eitan.eg@gmail.com)

3. Coptic Versions of the Gospel of Mark. Panel Coordinator: Anne Boud'hors (anne.boudhors@irht.cnrs.fr)

4. Early Coptic Codices: Typological Criteria. Panel Coordinator: Sofia Torallas Tovar (sofiatorallas@gmail.com)

5. From Coptic to Arabic. Panel Coordinator: Mark N. Swanson (mswanson@lstc.edu)

6. Gnosticism and Manichaeism in Egypt. Panel Coordinator: Gregor Wurst (gregor.wurst@kthf.uni-augsburg.de)

7. Monastic and Liturgical Vestments in Egypt: From Late Antiquity to Medieval Times. Panel Coordinators: Sabine Schrenk with Maria Mossakowska-Gaubert (schrenk-sa@netcologne.de and mmossakowska@ifao.egnet.net)

8. Shenoute of Atripe. Panel Coordinator: Andrew Crislip (crislip@hawaii.edu)

9. The Visual Culture of Egyptian Monasticism. Panel Coordinator: Elizabeth S. Bolman (ebolman@temple.edu)

These are the panels with calls for paper; there are other panels without calls for papers too. So this is going to be a huge conference - Ninth International Congress of Coptic Studies - Cairo, September 14-20, 2008.

1 comment:

Osama Zain said...

So good topic really i like any post talking about Ancient Egypt but i want to say thing to u Ancient Egypt not that only ... you can see in Ancient Egypt Khufu's Great Pyramid and more , you shall search in Google and Wikipedia about that .... thanks a gain ,,,